Inspiration On The Horizon

Hello!

 

I LOVE writing, from ideas on sticky notes…to storyboarding on index cards…to writing a 50,000 word 30-day
novel every year on “NANOWRIMO”. Yep…I am a two-time “NANOWRIMO” winner. Ok…so here’s my story…”I’ll type it fast so it doesn’t hurt so much.” My mom passed away in 2010 and my world kinda stopped; I was living, but I wasn’t really, you know,…..‘l-i-v-i-n-g’…(too much pain) for instance, my wall calendar in my bedroom still displays NOVEMBER 2010. I have changed every calendar in my home, but I cannot bring myself to change this one (too painful). After two years of mourning, I went in search of a diversion to distract me from my pain. (Sidebar: I spend most of my free time at the Library). Upon one of my regular visits to my favorite Library, I happened upon an author speaking on the topic of “Writing”. She introduced “NANOWRIMO” and I was hooked! I took my firstNANOWRIMO” challenge in 2013 and won! Yay! I repeated the challenge in 2014 and won. Yah, again! The diversion worked! The biggest benefit for me was that I received a bonus gift…I learned that, not only can I write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days, I also fully enjoyed the process of typing every single word.  Before “NANOWRIMO”, I enjoyed reading novels, but the thought of writing one never crossed my mind, add the challenge of doing such within a 30-day window, (Sidebar: Seriously! Is this really possible, people can really accomplish this?) Allowing myself to take the “NANOWRIMO” challenge revealed a hidden treasure that I had buried inside my pain. (Sidebar: Treasure=Love writing novels!) Writing my second 50,000 word 30-day novel in 2014 was fun, easy and satisfying. I loved the process so much that I decided to invest in the process by committing to a public forum on a daily basis. I invite you to stop by and enjoy my journey as I bring you daily inspiration in hopes to inspire you to write every day with me.  I look forward to spending the year with you!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Inspiration On The Horizon

  1. T

    what are the novels, that you wrote for NANOWRIMO, about? Can you make a post about it?

    Like

  2. Hi T, thanks for stopping by. Sure I would love to share what my first NANOWRIMO novel is about, as it is in the final editing stages. It is about a girl who has lived in a small, quiet town her entire life and felt like she was missing ‘something’..she set out to try to find that ‘something’ in Anytown, USA, only to discover that the dream she was searching for was only a short distance from the very town she was so anxious to run from. I will certainly post once I am finished editing, to allow you, too, to laugh, and sometimes cry, as she takes her amazingly inspirational journey. Stay tuned for insight into my second novel that is in the first stage of editing. Please stop by again for a daily dose of inspiration…and remember to write today.

    Like

  3. This is very deep and inspirational. Touches my heart. I am very proud of you. Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading your blogs often.

    Like

  4. Hi Nikita, thanks for stopping by. I am glad that you enjoyed my post. Thanks so very much for your encouragement. Please stop by again soon for a daily dose of inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

