Exploring Writing Preferences

Good evening! Do you enjoy writing pages that read like a sprint? – Or writing pages that read like a marathon? For the purpose of this post, we will refer to a writing sprint as a story that can be read from page 1 to “The End” in less than one day – while a writing marathon is a story that takes a minimum of three days to read from page 1 to “The End“. Keep in mind that there is no right or wrong answer – I am just sending this question out into the void. My preference is writing pages that read like a marathon because I enjoy the slower pace – I like to take my readers on a long journey that feels like a scenic leisure drive on a lazy Saturday or Sunday in the beginning of Spring or Fall. I have not been successful in my attempts to write pages that read like a sprint – because it feels like I am telling the reader too much – thus denying them the joy in taking the short journey. However, I will keep practicing because I do enjoy reading such pages from the experts who can deliver this method well – for they teach me a lot each time I read their pages. Which is your preference?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Exploring Writing Preferences

  1. I prefer a marathon. When i write a poem, i want it to take you on a journey. I want you to go into a daydream of vivid images inspired by my words. I want to paint a picture with a pen. And i cant do that with just a sprint. I need a 10k race.

    Like

Leave a Reply

