How To Measure Writing GOALS to See Progress

Good evening! 2015 Closure! My writing GROWTH increased in 2015. Yay! Each year I measure my daily word count from January to December to answer a question I continually challenge – Did I make progress? This question motivates me to write daily. You see – I am driven by GOALS – believe me, sometimes I think I am obsessed with GOALS! I must have started my TO DO list when I was five years old. Lol. If MOM was still here, I would call her to ask if this actually did happen because I see a purse-sized notebook in all of my memories…hmmm. I still keep a notebook in my purse – it contains my daily TO DO list and to capture my thoughts. I was informed, “If you cannot measure your GOAL – it is NOT a GOAL – it must be MEASURABLE” – this was eye-opening for me! This RULE made much sense – the MEASURE shows your PROGRESS – WOW! It is very MOTIVATING to SEE progress! Another surprise I discovered in this process is that the MEASURE also adds PURPOSE to your writing – thus resulting in AUTHENTICITY.  I found many rewards in measuring my writing goals. When I reach the GOAL – I do not mark the goal complete – I simply BENCHMARK it and challenge myself to KEEP GOING by adding another element to measure that will allow me to GROW.  This method ensures that I am always making PROGRESS in my writing. At the end of every year – I review my writing results and HIGHLIGHT what I feel were my strengths and weaknesses within the year. This is the closure strategy I utilize to see PROGRESS in my writing. I would love hear from any of my fellow writers about your yearly closure method to measure your writing. Are you satisfied with your writing results of 2015? What were your writing strengths of 2015? How did you measure your writing GOALS in 2015?

Leave a comment

Filed under Progress

Leave a Reply

